Anxiety and why you can’t just ‘get on with it’.

This may be a sort of ranty post, more serious post than my usual ones, so I apologise! I just feel like I need to say this somewhere, so hiii helloo and here we goo..

I have anxiety, though you probably know this, that’s why most of you are here, and I’m in no way ashamed of it. You probably know that too seeing as though I share all this with you all!
When people say anxiety, it makes you think of panic attacks occasionally or getting a bit nervous over things. Some people actually have an anxiety disorder, I have phobic anxiety disorder and I’ve had it for the past few years. Let me be clear, this post is NOT intended to make people feel sorry for me, quite the opposite actually, I want people to recognise how hard it is, and how strong sufferers actually are. I’m a LOT better than I was when I started this blog, but this is for all the people that are still dealing with it all. If you’ve never experienced a full blown anxiety disorder, It’s hard to understand. But, just because you don’t understand or you think that you understand, doesn’t mean you have the room or the right to judge. There is a LOT of stigma attached to mental health issues as it is, without people making assumptions. Firstly, you can’t just ‘get over it’ or ‘get on with it’. When people have a broken leg, do you tell them to just get over it? No, because you can physically see it. We’re not lazy, I would have LOVED to take some of the opportunities that I’ve been offered, but I couldn’t. It’s fine saying push through it, but when you’re having panic attacks constantly, you can’t push through it, it doesn’t stop it happening any less because you pushed through it last time. It’s still equally as horrible and scary each time it happens. It’s a process, a long one, that you have to go through to fight it. It’s not just the mental side of it either, it can make you physically feel ill, the brain is a powerful thing. Next time you have the flu, will yourself to be strong and get over it, and then see what happens. Chances are, you’ll feel just as shit. So, in my opinion, people with mental health problems are a hell of a lot stronger than the fools that tell us to ‘just get on with it’. Think before you speak.

Leave a Reply

